‘Top 50 Albums Of 2013’ Countdown – #15: Motörhead – Aftershock

By Andrew Bansal

Heavy metal godfathers Motörhead have kept going perennially strong since 1975, and nothing seems to stop them, whether it be the vagaries of the music industry or frontman Lemmy Kilmister’s health issues. This year, they released their 21st studio album ‘Aftershock’ via UDR Music, a set of quintessential Motörhead tunes that satiates fans. ‘Heartbreaker’, a tune dominated by Lemmy’s gruff voice and a dirty, heavy bass-driven sound, kicks off the album in typical manner and to an extent, the rest of the album offers what anyone would expect from Motörhead, nothing but rock n’ roll at its purest. But aside from that, tunes like ‘Lost Woman Blues’ and ‘Dust And Glass’ explore the tender side of Lemmy’s vocals and lend variety to the album. But the album probably trumps some of Motörhead’s recent studio efforts mainly due to guitarist Phil Campbell’s seemingly greater involvement in the songs, as he is allowed to express himself much more than usual, and he has obliged by delivering some sweet guitar work throughout the album. ‘Aftershock’ proves that Motörhead’s musical creativity hasn’t faded away even after all these years, and whether or not the band is able to tour as actively as usual will depend on Lemmy’s health, but when it comes to the sheer class and quality of their studio albums, Motörhead still deliver on all fronts.

Track Listing:
1. Heartbreaker
2. Coup De Grace
3. Lost Woman Blues
4. End Of Time
5. Do You Believe
6. Death Machine
7. Dust And Glass
8. Going To Mexico
9. Silence When You Speak To Me
10.Crying Shame
11.Queen Of The Damned
13.Keep Your Powder Dry

Duration: 46.9 minutes

The countdown so far …
#50. Nails – Abandon All Life
#49. American Sharks – Self-Titled
#48. Hatebreed – The Divinity Of Purpose
#47. Helen Money – Arriving Angels
#46. Uncle Acid & The Deadbeats – Mind Control
#45. Ihsahn – Das Seelenbrechen
#44. Church Of Misery – Thy Kingdom Scum
#43. Wolvserpent – Perigaea Antahkarana
#42. Djinn And Miskatonic – Forever In The Realm
#41. Czar – No One Is Alone If No One Is Alive 
#40. Against The Grain – Surrounded By Snakes
#39. Nekrofilth – Devil’s Breath
#38. Kylesa – Ultraviolet
#37. The Devil’s Blood – III: Tabula Rasa or Death and the Seven Pillars
#36. Kadavar – Abra Kadavar
#35. Purson – The Circle And The Blue Door
#34. Carousel – Jeweler’s Daughter
#33. Kvelertak – Meir
#32. SpiralArms – Freedom
#31. Satan – Life Sentence
#30. Exhumed – Necrocracy
#29. Havok – Unnatural Selection
#28. Mothership – Self-Titled
#27. UDO – Steelhammer
#26. Ramming Speed – Doomed To Destroy, Destined To Die
#25. Revocation – Self-Titled 
#24. Gorguts – Colored Sands
#23. Kobra And The Lotus – Self-Titled 
#22. Toxic Holocaust – Chemistry Of Consciousness
#21. Saxon – Sacrifice 
#20. Noctum – Final Sacrifice
#19. Intronaut – Habitual Levitations (Instilling Words With Tones)
#18. Scale The Summit – The Migration
#17. Warbringer – IV: Empires Collapse
#16. Scorpion Child – Self-Titled
#15. Motörhead – Aftershock 

Check out #14 here.