‘Top 50 Albums Of 2013’ Countdown – #16: Scorpion Child – Self-Titled

By Andrew Bansal

Based out of Austin, Texas, hard rock quintet Scorpion Child have been around since 2006 but 2013 has undoubtedly been the breakthrough year for them, as they toured North America with Clutch and Orange Goblin, got signed to Nuclear Blast Records and released their self-titled debut album and subsequently did the Mayhem Festival summer tour followed by a headline run of their own. The band embodies the creative, artistic spirit of their town and with this debut album they’ve arrived onto the forefront of the heavy music scene in an emphatic manner. While a sizable portion of their music seems to be embedded in Zeppelin worship, it’s by no means a rip-off or a revivalistic approach as they’ve been successfully able to infuse modern rock elements into the music to create a style they can call their own. The album boasts of some of the best songs of the year such as ‘Kings Highway’, ‘Polygon Of Eyes’ and ‘The Secret Spot’, and stamps its authority on the hard rock fan. As a whole it has a very relaxed vibe which allows the listener to soak it all in. It has all the ingredients to form the perfect soundtrack for a cruise down the highway or just a laid-back evening at home. Vocalist Aryn Jonathan Black delivers a stellar performance, well backed-up by his four band mates on their respective instruments. Scorpion Child’s self-titled debut album is a glorious representation of the band’s no-bullshit brand of hard rock and holds its own amongst the plethora of music released in 2013.

Track Listing:
1.  Kings Highway
2.  Polygon Of Eyes
3.  The Secret Spot
4.  Salvation Slave
5.  Liquor
6.  Antioch
7.  In The Arms Of Ecstasy
8.  Lover’s Leap
9.  Red Blood (The River Flows)

Duration: 50.7 minutes

Visit Scorpion Child on the web:

The countdown so far …
#50. Nails – Abandon All Life
#49. American Sharks – Self-Titled
#48. Hatebreed – The Divinity Of Purpose
#47. Helen Money – Arriving Angels
#46. Uncle Acid & The Deadbeats – Mind Control
#45. Ihsahn – Das Seelenbrechen
#44. Church Of Misery – Thy Kingdom Scum
#43. Wolvserpent – Perigaea Antahkarana
#42. Djinn And Miskatonic – Forever In The Realm
#41. Czar – No One Is Alone If No One Is Alive 
#40. Against The Grain – Surrounded By Snakes
#39. Nekrofilth – Devil’s Breath
#38. Kylesa – Ultraviolet
#37. The Devil’s Blood – III: Tabula Rasa or Death and the Seven Pillars
#36. Kadavar – Abra Kadavar
#35. Purson – The Circle And The Blue Door
#34. Carousel – Jeweler’s Daughter
#33. Kvelertak – Meir
#32. SpiralArms – Freedom
#31. Satan – Life Sentence
#30. Exhumed – Necrocracy
#29. Havok – Unnatural Selection
#28. Mothership – Self-Titled
#27. UDO – Steelhammer
#26. Ramming Speed – Doomed To Destroy, Destined To Die
#25. Revocation – Self-Titled 
#24. Gorguts – Colored Sands
#23. Kobra And The Lotus – Self-Titled 
#22. Toxic Holocaust – Chemistry Of Consciousness
#21. Saxon – Sacrifice 
#20. Noctum – Final Sacrifice
#19. Intronaut – Habitual Levitations (Instilling Words With Tones)
#18. Scale The Summit – The Migration
#17. Warbringer – IV: Empires Collapse
#16. Scorpion Child – Self-Titled 

Check out #15 here.