‘Top 50 Albums Of 2013’ Countdown – #45: Ihsahn – Das Seelenbrechen

By Andrew Bansal

Norwegian multi-instrumentalist Ihsahn is primarily known as the vocalist, guitarist and keyboardist in the black metal band Emperor. That band was on a hiatus since 2007 but has decided to reunite again in 2014, but in the meanwhile Ihsahn released his fifth solo studio album ‘Das Seelenbrechen’ via Candlelight Records this year. Ihsahn has never been one to shy away from exploring genre-defying musical boundaries, and on this particular album he has done that to an even greater extent, with an adventurous songwriting journey that has resulted in a set of tunes that are extremely atmospheric with many layers to them and an underlying dark expression that is synonymous with Ihsahn’s music. The album travels along a direction that throws variations at the listener at every step, ranging from black metal growls to melancholic clean vocals, heavy guitar riffs to dominating synth sections, and everything in between. It’s probably not the most easy-listening albums you’ll ever come across, but it’s certainly artistic and full of expression, and for that reason it finds a spot in this year-end list.

Track Listing:
1. Hilber
2. Regen
3. NaCl
4. Pulse
5. Tacit 2
6. Tacit
7. Rec
8. M
9. Sub Alter

Duration: 49.2 minutes

Related: In-depth Interview With Ihsahn

Visit Ihsahn on the web at:

The countdown so far …
#50. Nails – Abandon All Life
#49. American Sharks – Self-Titled
#48. Hatebreed – The Divinity Of Purpose
#47. Helen Money – Arriving Angels
#46. Uncle Acid & The Deadbeats – Mind Control
#45. Ihsahn – Das Seelenbrechen

Check out #44 here.