Godhead – The Shadow Realigned

By Andrew Bansal

Los Angeles-based industrial metal band Godhead are no strangers to the rock/metal mainstream, having been around for more than two decades and touring with the likes of Marilyn Manson, Linkin Park, Slipknot, Disturbed, Black Sabbath, Rammstein and GWAR during this period. The band’s tenth studio full-length release ‘The Shadow Realigned’ is slated for release via Warrior Records on April 29th. A 17-track album consisting of remixed tracks, one original composition and two covers, this one is a unique offering for fans of Godhead and the industrial rock genre.

The 14 remixes are an assortment of carefully picked tunes from the Godhead catalog and remixed by 14 different producers, which is quite an unprecedented and innovative approach that aptly fits the envelope-pushing nature of this sub-genre of heavy music. The remixes are done in a manner Godheads fans as well as those unfamiliar with these songs can find enjoyment in. But even through these remixes, band mastermind Jason C. Miller’s vocals stand out as the driving force and that feature of Godhead remains a constant as it always as.

The one unreleased original track ‘To Heal’ is obviously a departure from the 14 remixes, presenting a more organic, guitar-driven sound and creating a darker atmosphere, leaving listeners hungry for more new original music, hopefully in the near future. The album ends out on a wildly diverse note with a cover of KISS’ ‘God Of Thunder’ on which Jason does a killer job on the vocals, and an excellent rendition of Depeche Mode’s ‘Never Let Me Down Again’.

Most importantly, the remixes of the 14 tunes do not ruin or tarnish the qualities of their original versions. They simply present the music in a different light and thought-provoking manner. ‘The Gift’, ‘Inside Your World’, ‘Push’ and ‘Your End Of Days’ stand out as the best remixes in my opinion but each track contributes something to the overall theme and vibe of the album and serves its purpose.

The album makes a powerful statement on behalf of the industrial rock genre. Frankly, there isn’t much good industrial metal to boast about these days, and Godhead’s ‘The Shadow Realigned’ might just turn out to be a welcome exception to that when it hits stores next month.

Rating: 9/10

Record Label: Warrior

Release Date: April 29th 2014

Track Listing:
01. The Gift (Robotic Beehive Remix)
02. Through The Cracks (Sweet Kill Remix)
03. Unrequited (Ben Moody Remix)
04. Hey You (Ginormous Remix)
05. Trapped In Your Lies (NeonGenesis Remix)
06. Inside Your World (Dark Moon Remix)
07. Goodbye (Khursor Remix)
08. Another Day (Shok’s Other Way Remix)
09. Once Before (Arritmic Remix)
10. Push (Creature Remix)
11. Your End Of Days (Jamison Boaz Remix)
12. Fall Down (Joe Bishara Remix)
13. Unrequited (Team Cybergeist Remix)
14. Trapped In Your Lies (Psyclon Nine Remix)
15. To Heal
16. God Of Thunder (KISS cover)
17. Never Let Me Down Again (Depeche Mode cover)