The Melvins to release Double Album ‘A Walk with Love and Death’

The Melvins will release their first ever double album, ‘A Walk with Love and Death’, on July 7th 2017 via Ipecac Recordings. The dual albums find the trio of Buzz Osborne, Dale Crover and Steve McDonald showcasing two distinct sides to the band’s music: ‘Death’, a proper Melvins release and ‘Love’, the score to the Jesse Nieminen directed, self-produced short also titled ‘A Walk With Love and Death’. A release date for the short has not been announced yet, but a trailer can be viewed below:

“This was a huge undertaking,” explained Buzz Osborne. “All three things: the album, the soundtrack and the film are benchmarks for us.”

Drummer Dale Crover added, “A Walk With Love and Death is one giant, dark, moody, psychotic head trip! Not for the faint of heart. You’ll sleep with the lights on after listening.”

The albums, which include guests Joey Santiago (The Pixies), Teri Gender Bender (Le Butcherettes/Crystal Fairy) and Anna Waronker (That Dog), were self-produced with engineer Toshi Kosai.

A North American tour is in the works for this summer with dates to be announced soon.

‘A Walk With Love and Death’ track listing:

Aim High
Queen Powder Party
Street Level St. Paul
The Hidden Joice
Give It To Me
Chicken Butt
Eat Yourself Out
Halfway to the Bakersfield Mall
Pacoima Normal
Park Head
Track Star
The Asshole Bastard

Black Heath
Sober-delic (acid only)
What’s Wrong With You
Edgar the Elephant
Christ Hammer
Flaming Creature
Cactus Party
Cardboro Negro

‘A Walk With Love and Death’ pre-orders will launch soon, with the collection available as a double-CD, on vinyl and digitally.

If you like what you’ve read, buy a shirt and help keep Metal Assault running full time!

If you live in the LA area, come to one of our Metal Assault Nights at the Viper Room!