The Obsessed Announce Details for First New Album in 23 Years, Stream New Song

Maryland doom legends The Obsessed announced their full-time return in 2016, and have now revealed details for their fourth album ‘Sacred’, their first in 23 years. ‘Sacred’ is set for release on April 7th via Relapse Records. Check out the cover art and track listing below, along with a song called ‘Razor Wire’.

Scott “Wino” Weinrich comments on the new album: “I can honestly say, I think this is the best sounding recording of my career, and I am excited to release it on Relapse. This song ‘Razor Wire,’ I have been carrying around the title concept and main riff in my pocket for a couple years. The full song was born after applying real life experiences, with a little wishful thinking! Fuck control.”

‘Sacred’ Track Listing:
01. Sodden Jackal
02. Punk Crusher
03. Sacred
04. Haywire
05. Perseverance Of Futility
06. It’s Only Money
07. Cold Blood
08. Stranger Things
09. Razor Wire
10. My Daughter My Son
11. Be The Night
12. Interlude
13. On So Long (Bonus)
14. Crossroader Blues (Bonus)

The current lineup of The Obsessed comprises vocalist/guitarist Scott “Wino” Weinrich, bassist Bruce Falkinburg, guitarist Seraphim and drummer Brian Costantino, making it the first time the band has been a four-piece since 1982. Stay tuned for more from the land of The Obsessed!

If you like what you’ve read, make a donation of any amount and help keep Metal Assault running full time!

If you live in the LA area, buy tickets to Metal Assault Night at The Viper Room Vol. 1!