Metal Assault Mixtape: ANCIENT FEARS’ “Trial To Fire” Premiered via Doomed & Stoned

Metal Assault Records is psyched to make the second reveal from its upcoming compilation release, Metal Assault Mixtape: Vol. 1.

“Trial To Fire”, the debut single by LA doom/sludge unit Ancient Fears, was premiered on July 15 via highly esteemed stoner-doom portal, Doomed & Stoned, who described the song as one that “conjures spine tingling sounds”. “Trial To Fire” can be streamed using the Bandcamp player below.

Metal Assault Mixtape Vol. 1 is releasing on August 9 on cassette tape (limited to 100 copies only) and digital download. Pre-orders of the cassette tape are live via our web store. All orders of the cassette will receive a free digital download of the entire compilation.

Pre-orders of the standalone digital download of the compilation are now also live via the Metal Assault Bandcamp, wherein anyone who purchases a digital pre-order gets an immediate download of the Ancient Fears track (plus, the Zinngeschrei track which was revealed last week). And of course, you can also make an individual purchase of the Ancient Fears track by itself. Without further ado, listen to “Trial To Fire”:


Witnessed by many in the city’s heavy music underground but only as a mesmerizing live act, LA’s own Ancient Fears makes its first attempt to capture their bestial intensity and mind-bending psychedelia in a studio recording, with the haunting debut single, “Trial To Fire”. By far the longest track on this mixtape, it deserved its own space to breathe, and thereby it features as the closing track. Doom has a new synyonym, and it is Ancient Fears.

Ancient Fears links: facebook | twitter | instagram

In other news, we are conducting two events to celebrate the release of the mixtape, wherein most of the aforementioned bands will be performing.

Metal Assault Mixtape release parties:

1. Saturday August 10 @ Old Towne Pub (Pasadena CA), featuring Old Blood, Ancient Fears, Tzimani, Tyranis and Zinngeschrei. For $10, you get entry into the show as well a a free copy of the mixtape! Ticket + cassette bundles available for pre-sale here.
facebook event page

2. Saturday August 31 @ Petie’s Place (Tarzana CA), featuring Haunted Garage and MX Machine, plus local support acts Darwen’s Theory and Satanic Johnny
facebook event page

Stay tuned for more updates and song reveals!

Metal Assault Mixtape Vol. 1 track listing:

1. OLD BLOOD – Bloody Feathers (4:22)
2. TZIMANI – Carry On (3:52)
3. HROM – Struck by The Dawn (4:38)
4. CORNERS OF SANCTUARY – Liar and a Faker (4:23)
5. TYRANIS – Scarred For Life (3:58)

6. HAUNTED GARAGE – Surf Nazis Must Die (4:51)
7. MX MACHINE – Devils Highway (3:31)
8. ZINNGESCHREI – Amok (3:36)
9. ANCIENT FEARS – Trial to Fire (7:16)