Surface Tension rebrands as SUBSURFACE TENSION; Debut Single to be released on METAL ASSAULT MIXTAPE Vol. 3

Anaheim, California heavy metal group Surface Tension, fronted by Jen Taylor Warren (former singer of The Iron Maidens) is rebranding itself under the new name, SUBSURFACE TENSION. Moreover, the band’s debut single is releasing very soon, and on our very own mixtape!

Metal Assault Mixtape Vol. 3 will feature SubSurface Tension’s “Devil Pin-Up Girl,” which will be released exclusively as part of the mixtape. Channeling inspiration from Iron Maiden, Mercyful Fate, Black Sabbath and the like, while also infusing modern rock / metal elements, this concisely powerful track serves as the apt introduction to the band’s new incarnation, and finds its rightful place on the mixtape.

SubSurface Tension links: facebook | instagram

This is what the band lineup for the mixtape currently looks like, in alphabetical order:
Anthea (symphonic / power metal)
Blackwater Reds (rock ‘n roll)
Deified (progressive death metal)
Flesh And Machine (grind / punk / hardcore)
Fleshbong (grindcore)
Marishi Ten (hard rock / heavy metal)
Rising Elijah (rock ‘n roll / heavy metal)
The Sleeping Sea King (hard rock / heavy metal)
Solar Haze (stoner metal / psych rock)
SubSurface Tension (heavy metal)
Warwind (melodic death metal / black metal)

Metal Assault Mixtape: Vol. 3 will be released on August 14 2020 on limited-edition cassette tape plus digital download. The 12th and final band will be revealed next Monday June 29, along with the full track listing. Pre-orders will be launched on July 3 at midnight Pacific Time via

METAL ASSAULT MIXTAPE – Vol. 3 (August 14 2020)