‘Top 50 Albums Of 2013’ Countdown – #9: Anciients – Heart Of Oak

By Andrew Bansal

Based out of Vancouver, Canada, progressive metal band Anciients have burst onto the scene this year like no other, with the release of their debut album ‘Heart Of Oak’ via Season Of Mist Records and subsequent high-profile tours across North America with the likes of ‘Death To All’, Lamb Of God and Scale The Summit. Based around a combination of mellow and extreme musical elements, ‘Heart Of Oak’ turns out to be the true embodiment of progressive music and through its tunes it paints vast, rich and dynamic landscapes in the listener’s imagination. The musical reminiscence to bands like Opeth (in their prime) and Enslaved allows unfamiliar listeners to find something to relate to, but Anciients’ approach and end result on this album is undoubtedly distinct and enables them to create a niché of their own which will only grow stronger and bigger in the foreseeable future. Chris Dyck and Kenneth Cook form the ideal symmetry as a creative force with their individual styles of vocal delivery and guitar play. The manner in which both the acoustic and electric guitar parts flow together is a testament to the duo’s talents. Besides, the rhythm section of Aaron Gustafson on bass and Mike Hannay on drums play a crucial role in dictating the tempo variations in each song. There’s plenty to absorb and appreciate in this hour-long, 9-track offering, and there isn’t even a semblance of a dull moment anywhere. With ‘Heart Of Oak’, Anciients have emphatically announced themselves onto the metal world, and can one of the finest exports from the Great White North.

Track Listing:
1. Raise the Sun
2. Overthrone
3. Falling in Line
4. The Longest River
5. One Foot in the Light
6. Giants
7. Faith and Oath
8. Flood and Fire
9. For Lisa

Duration: 1 hour

Visit Anciients on the web:

The countdown so far …
#50. Nails – Abandon All Life
#49. American Sharks – Self-Titled
#48. Hatebreed – The Divinity Of Purpose
#47. Helen Money – Arriving Angels
#46. Uncle Acid & The Deadbeats – Mind Control
#45. Ihsahn – Das Seelenbrechen
#44. Church Of Misery – Thy Kingdom Scum
#43. Wolvserpent – Perigaea Antahkarana
#42. Djinn And Miskatonic – Forever In The Realm
#41. Czar – No One Is Alone If No One Is Alive 
#40. Against The Grain – Surrounded By Snakes
#39. Nekrofilth – Devil’s Breath
#38. Kylesa – Ultraviolet
#37. The Devil’s Blood – III: Tabula Rasa or Death and the Seven Pillars
#36. Kadavar – Abra Kadavar
#35. Purson – The Circle And The Blue Door
#34. Carousel – Jeweler’s Daughter
#33. Kvelertak – Meir
#32. SpiralArms – Freedom
#31. Satan – Life Sentence
#30. Exhumed – Necrocracy
#29. Havok – Unnatural Selection
#28. Mothership – Self-Titled
#27. UDO – Steelhammer
#26. Ramming Speed – Doomed To Destroy, Destined To Die
#25. Revocation – Self-Titled 
#24. Gorguts – Colored Sands
#23. Kobra And The Lotus – Self-Titled 
#22. Toxic Holocaust – Chemistry Of Consciousness
#21. Saxon – Sacrifice 
#20. Noctum – Final Sacrifice
#19. Intronaut – Habitual Levitations (Instilling Words With Tones)
#18. Scale The Summit – The Migration
#17. Warbringer – IV: Empires Collapse
#16. Scorpion Child – Self-Titled
#15. Motörhead – Aftershock
#14. Holy Grail – Ride The Void
#13. Red Fang – Whales And Leeches
#12. Soilwork – The Living Infinite
#11. ASG – Blood Drive
#10. The Ocean – Pelagial
#9:  Anciients – Heart Of Oak

Check out #8 here.