‘Top 50 Albums Of 2013’ Countdown – #26: Ramming Speed – Doomed To Destroy, Destined to Die

By Andrew Bansal

Boston MA-based crossover thrash outfit Ramming Speed released their second full-length album ‘Doomed To Destroy, Destined To Die’ via Prosthetic Records earlier this year, a crowning achievement in their fledgling career. The relentless hours on the road and the insane number of live performances have clearly hardened and primed this quintet into becoming a tighter, more focussed and more dynamic group of musicians. The album fully justifies the band’s name with some furiously fast-paced tunes on this 13-track, 34-minute metal avalanche, but its outstanding feature is its multi-dimensional nature, possessing a rich blend of thrash, doom and punk along with some delightful guitar melodies and solos more akin to traditional old-school heavy metal, specially on tunes like ‘Grinding Descent’, ‘Anthems Of Despair’ and ‘Under The Monolith’. Guitarists Kallen Bliss and Blake Chuffskin have certainly upped their musicianship on this album, as has drummer Jonah Livingston as he successfully adopts to all the variations in these tunes, while Pete Gallagher on vocals and Ben Banoogen on bass lend the dirty low-end grit to make it an extremely well-rounded metal album suited to please ears and minds that dig all things heavy. A crushing set of tunes from start to finish, Ramming Speed’s sophomore LP is one of the most punishing releases of 2013.

Track Listing:
1. Doomed To Destroy, Destined To Die
2. Anticipating Failure
3. Grinding Dissent
4. Gorgon’s Eye
5. Cretins and Cowards
6. Anthems of Despair (Summer Jam)
7. Ashes
8. Minisitry of Truth
9. The Rhetoric of Hate and Other Examples of Wildly Unchecked Ignorance
10. Extinction Event
11. Under the Monolith
12. Hollow Giants
13. Dead Flags

Duration: 34.3 minutes

Visit Ramming Speed on the web:

The countdown so far …
#50. Nails – Abandon All Life
#49. American Sharks – Self-Titled
#48. Hatebreed – The Divinity Of Purpose
#47. Helen Money – Arriving Angels
#46. Uncle Acid & The Deadbeats – Mind Control
#45. Ihsahn – Das Seelenbrechen
#44. Church Of Misery – Thy Kingdom Scum
#43. Wolvserpent – Perigaea Antahkarana
#42 . Djinn And Miskatonic – Forever In The Realm
#41. Czar – No One Is Alone If No One Is Alive 
#40. Against The Grain – Surrounded By Snakes
#39. Nekrofilth – Devil’s Breath
#38. Kylesa – Ultraviolet
#37. The Devil’s Blood – III: Tabula Rasa or Death and the Seven Pillars
#36. Kadavar – Abra Kadavar
#35. Purson – The Circle And The Blue Door
#34. Carousel – Jeweler’s Daughter
#33. Kvelertak – Meir
#32. SpiralArms – Freedom
#31. Satan – Life Sentence
#30. Exhumed – Necrocracy
#29. Havok – Unnatural Selection
#28. Mothership – Self-Titled
#27. UDO – Steelhammer
#26. Ramming Speed – Doomed To Destroy, Destined To Die 

Check out #25 here.