‘Top 50 Albums Of 2013’ Countdown – #28: Mothership – Self-Titled

By Andrew Bansal

Started in 2010 by brothers Kyle and Kelley Juett, Mothership is a rock trio based out of Dallas, Texas. They released their self-titled debut full-length album earlier this year, offering fans of heavy stoner/doom rock a 45-minute set of eight tunes that spell pure awesomeness. Everything about this album is gloriously reminiscent of a by-gone era, when album covers were so awesome that you’d be compelled to buy the album just for that reason, the music was pleasantly simple, catchy and well-written, and the production was not overdone but crystal clear. Mothership’s debut offering gets the listener hooked with solid riffs, delightful solos and groovy old-school rock drumming. Starting with the aptly titled ‘Hallucination’ and providing great treats like ‘Cosmic Rain’, ‘City Nights’ and ‘Win Or Lose’, the album keeps the rock flowing all the way through the final track ‘Lunar Master’. Certain pockets of Texas like Dallas and Austin have always prided themselves on producing great rock, and with a debut as spellbinding as theirs, Mothership have stamped their authority as one of the most promising rock groups coming out of the area. They’ve already made their mark in America touring all across it opening for like-minded bands, and if they keep writing such amazing tunes, they’ll only go up from here. Mothership’s self-titled debut is without doubt one of the most accessible heavy music releases of 2013.

Track Listing:
1. Hallucination
2. Cosmic Rain
3. City Nights
4. Angel of Death
5. Win Or Lose
6. Elenin
7. Eagle Soars
8. Lunar Master

Duration: 45.1 minutes

Visit Mothership on the web:

The countdown so far …
#50. Nails – Abandon All Life
#49. American Sharks – Self-Titled
#48. Hatebreed – The Divinity Of Purpose
#47. Helen Money – Arriving Angels
#46. Uncle Acid & The Deadbeats – Mind Control
#45. Ihsahn – Das Seelenbrechen
#44. Church Of Misery – Thy Kingdom Scum
#43. Wolvserpent – Perigaea Antahkarana
#42 . Djinn And Miskatonic – Forever In The Realm
#41. Czar – No One Is Alone If No One Is Alive 
#40. Against The Grain – Surrounded By Snakes
#39. Nekrofilth – Devil’s Breath
#38. Kylesa – Ultraviolet
#37. The Devil’s Blood – III: Tabula Rasa or Death and the Seven Pillars
#36. Kadavar – Abra Kadavar
#35. Purson – The Circle And The Blue Door
#34. Carousel – Jeweler’s Daughter
#33. Kvelertak – Meir
#32. SpiralArms – Freedom
#31. Satan – Life Sentence
#30. Exhumed – Necrocracy
#29. Havok – Unnatural Selection
#28. Mothership – Self-Titled 

Check out #27 here.