‘Top 50 Albums Of 2013’ Countdown – #43: Wolvserpent – Perigaea Antahkarana

By Andrew Bansal

Based out of Boise, Idaho, a rather unlikely source of this type of musical expression, Wolvserpent comprises of the duo of Blake Green on guitar/vocals and Brittany McConnell on drums/violin. They began under the Wolvserpent name in 2010 and three years after the debut full-length ‘Blood Seed’, they came out with the second LP this year via Relapse Records, titled Perigaea Antahkarana. They can be broadly categorized as doom metal but their approach to the sub-genre isolates them from most other bands. Their sound, particularly on this new album, is drone-based but has several layers to it, resulting in an extremely atmospheric, ethereal and beautifully depressing set of tunes. Wolvserpent’s latest offering truly feels like a tryst with nature, such is its spellbinding power. When transcended onto a live stage, the impact of this album heightens even further, as was witnessed by the small but grateful audience at a Los Angeles show recently. In a home setting, this album instills feelings of peace and calm in the listener’s head in a manner very few other albums have been able to do this year, and the only reason this Wolvserpent masterpiece is not higher on this list is, due to the nature of its music and its 82-minute duration, it demands a superlative attention span from the listeners for them to be able to fully appreciate it.

Track Listing:
1. Threshold: Gateway
2. Within The Light Of Fire
3. In Mirrors Of Water
4. A Breath In The Shade Of Time
5. Concealed Among The Roots And Soil

Duration: 1.3 hours

Related: Wolvserpent LA gig review

Visit Wolvserpent on the web at:

The countdown so far …
#50. Nails – Abandon All Life
#49. American Sharks – Self-Titled
#48. Hatebreed – The Divinity Of Purpose
#47. Helen Money – Arriving Angels
#46. Uncle Acid & The Deadbeats – Mind Control
#45. Ihsahn – Das Seelenbrechen
#44. Church Of Misery – Thy Kingdom Scum
#43. Wolvserpent – Perigaea Antahkarana

Check out #42 here.