News | Guitar World Column | Interviews | Pictures | Album Reviews | Gig Reviews | Release Dates | History | Articles | Setlists | Upcoming | Contact
Alberto Rigoni: Rebirth (Album Review)

By Kate Wilcox

Release Date: May 24th, 2011
Review Date: May 9th 2011
Record Label: Nightmare

My rating:

    Track Listing:
  1. Free
  2. Rebirth
  3. Story of a Man
  4. The Net
  5. Emptiness
  6. A New Soul
  7. With All My Forces
  8. Ontogeny
  9. White Shine

Italian bass player Alberto Rigoni takes you all over the spectrum of sound and emotion with his latest release "Rebirth", and gives you a new outlook on what progressive rock is supposed to sound like. Bringing in different musicians from everywhere just adds to the variety with the likes of Gavin Harrison (Porcupine Tree), John Macaluso (Labrie, Malmsteen), Jonas Erixon (Alicate) and more. With a bouncy opening and flowing guitar, Alberto gives you a chance to sit back and reflect on the music. Beginning with more of a pleasant ambience to almost a violent transition with aggressive guitar, "Free" kind of gives a sense what the bassist means when he titled his album "Rebirth".

The title track is very soft with expressive bass playing throughout, with some cool electronic effects off in the background and acoustic guitar flowing smoothly throughout. "Emptiness" is definitely where things get a little heavy. The guitars get a little crunchier; vocals come in with soul that's combined with a powerful chorus. The bass merges perfectly with the rest of the music while the keyboards give it a nice atmosphere. "New Soul" shows Alberto using a really unique style on the bass, giving it a bit of "vibrato" if you will. Things get heavy again with "With All My forces" with forceful drums and screeching guitar but still maintains great melody and rhythm. Jonas really delivers the lyrics with passion behind it. "White Shine" ends the album, bordering along the lines of New Age with mellow bass guitar and piano.

There's a wide interpretation when you think of rebirth but clearly Alberto is trying to tell us his version of the meaning with his music. The smooth bass, piano and guitar will take on a trip to explore your own subconscious, lending all kinds of possibilities. You can take what you want from "Rebirth" but I highly recommend you opening up your mind and giving this album a listen!

Looking for the best cable deals? Check out Cox Phoenix!