SOLAR HAZE Unveil “Hawk in the Wind” via Doomed & Stoned | Metal Assault Records

Los Angeles based stoner metal / psych rock quartet SOLAR HAZE is releasing their self-titled debut full-length on 4.20 via Metal Assault Records, and recently finished recording the album at Bonita Studios in Bonita, California. Solar Haze was produced, mixed, engineered and mastered by Eddie Vazquez, and we are finally ready to unveil the long-awaited first single off of the record.

The rip-roaring opening track “Hawk in the Wind” was premiered on February 13 (not coincidentally the 9-year anniversary of Metal Assault), exclusively by stoner doom monolith Doomed & Stoned, along with a stellar writeup, which says this about the album: “… the entirety of Solar Haze – from the aggressive, driving beat of the rhythm section to the daring leads and laser sharp riffs – provides us with something that’s been missing from the heavy scene at large: that magic combination of fun, wicked, and earth-shaking.”

Listen to “Hawk in the Wind” below:

Solar Haze has this to say about the recording process and about what people can expect from the album: “The self-titled Solar Haze debut is an album we’ve been looking forward to recording for a long time. We’ve been playing these songs live for a few years now, some dating back to as far as 2013, and it brings us a lot of excitement taking these songs from the stage to the vinyl with Metal Assault Records. Our producer/engineer Eddie Vasquez helped us take the music beyond our highest expectations and worked with us to create something that has a strongly defining feel you can only experience through Solar Haze. From hard hitting grooves to monster stoner jams, within Solar Haze lies an eclectic experience that has something for all kinds of metal and rock fans alike.”

SOLAR HAZE – Solar Haze (04.20.19)

Metal Assault Records will release Solar Haze, boasting cover artwork by the inimitable Ryan Bartlett, on limited-edition vinyl and all digital platforms on 4-20. Solar Haze is available for pre-order on Neon Green, Black and Transparent Purple vinyl, limited to only 100 copies each, sold individually and as part of shirt+LP bundles, through the Metal Assault web store. All vinyl and bundle orders will come with free digital download of the album. Digital download is also available for standalone purchase via the Metal Assault bandcamp.

In other news, Solar Haze is confirmed for their album release party on 4.20 at Old Towne Pub Pasadena, headlining a show that will also feature Old Blood, Garbeast, Bellegrave, and a comedy set by Ryan Demarest of Humpcast. Tickets and more info here.

Solar Haze track listing:
1. Hawk in the Wind (4:02)
2. Eyes of Strangers (4:20)
3. Hammer to the Head (5:03)
4. Coven (6:39)
5. United Minds (2:54)
6. Nefarious Natures & Truth Perceived (8:09)
7. Solar Haze (6:33)
8. Stoned to Death (7:52)
Total Duration: 45:32

Music by Stephen Falla and Ryan Falla
Produced by Eddie Vazquez
Mixed, Mastered and Engineered by Eddie Vazquez
Recorded at Bonita Studios in Bonita, California
Cover Artwork by Ryan Bartlett
Band photos by Aimee Martinez

Solar Haze is:
Stephen Falla (vocals, guitar)
Ryan Falla (drums)
Ross Cowan (guitar)
Jason Hernandez (bass)

Solar Haze links: facebook | instagram