Album Stream: Dunbarrow – Dunbarrow II

Based out of Haugesund, Norway, Dunbarrow can be described as psych rock, stoner rock, classic heavy rock, proto-doom or a variety of other things. Influenced by rock music of the late ’60s and early ’70s, Dunbarrow presents a raw, organic brand of bluesy, haunting heavy music. Formed in 2011, the quintet released their debut full-length in 2016, and are now ready to unveil the sophomore effort, simply titled Dunbarrow II, set for release via Riding Easy Records this Friday September 14. Metal Assault is extremely pleased to bring you the exclusive North American premiere of the entire album!

“Maybe more than the previous record, this one is more vocal driven,” guitarist Kenneth Lønning says. “But it still has those quirky transitions, eerie build ups, folk-inspired parts and the haunting solos.” Many of the album’s poetic lyrics were written by former bassist/vocalist Richard Chappell, whose writing personifies the group. Along with the album’s running theme of love and despair, is that of recognizing one’s own dark sides and developing your shadows into something you can control, inspired of the work by Carl Jung.

Vocalist Espen Andersen not only puts forth fantastic delivery of this storytelling style of singing, he is also the recording and mixing engineer behind the band’s recordings. For the new album, Dunbarrow teamed up with producer Christer Cederberg (Anathema, Tristania) in the initial recording phase, before Andersen took over once again. Without further ado, listen to the album using the YouTube player below, and if you like what you hear (which you will), pre-order Dunbarrow II here.

Dunbarrow II track listing:
1. On Your Trail
2. Please Let Me Be
3. Weary Lady
4. Ode To The Moon
5. Feberdrø
6. The Wolf
7. The Demon Within
8. Witches of The Woods Pt. II
9. On This Night

Dunbarrow links: facebook | twitter | instagram