Album Review: Nick Oliveri – N.O. Hits At All, Vol. 3

By Ryan Falla

Nick Oliveri is the former bassist of desert rock bands Kyuss and Queens of the Stone Age. He’s since embarked on a solo journey recording with a multitude of artists and compiling them into volumes, the third of which we’re discussing today. N.O Hits At All – Vol.3 doesn’t stray too far from the desert rock style, and fans of Kyuss and desert rock alike should find plenty of material to enjoy with this record.

This compilation record features plenty of distinctive musicians, each adding their own flavor into the their respective tracks. The kick-off track “R’N’R Outlaw” is a pretty standard rock track, about as standard as they come, so this album doesn’t kick off on the hottest note. Competent, but not entirely gripping. This changes with the following track pretty quickly, phasing into the pounding ‘Luv is Fiction’.

The soft variety with this record is nice, the opening tracks spanning from standard rock to a modern style of punk. It is a bit of a lyrically cheesy track through and through, but regardless, the top-tier musical structuring behind the vocals give this track much needed gusto to make up for the thin lyrical content.

The best song on this record is easily ‘Kyuss Dies!’; this track has no qualms with what it is as Nick Oliveri recounts a particular distaste for certain events, noted by the repetition of “Kyuss Dies, here comes the suit and ties” to end the track. It’s a strong track imbued with more power through the lyrical work. This is something that doesn’t seem to be present in the record until this point, but that’s okay because we’re not looking for artistically deep content from this record, nor was it expected. It’s a simple and straightforward record that blisters through its run time with a six-song slab of furiously speeding riffage.

The record closes with a pretty fun cover of ‘Mob Rules’; a popular song by Black Sabbath. Despite the plethora of bands putting their own take on this song, Nick Oliveri does a good job of keeping it within his style and not putting together a simple rehash of the track.

All in all, this record is a fun listen with a couple standout tracks; the album does not go beyond the limits of a fun rock n’ roll record. It’s good, it has some spicy moments and if you’re already a fan of Nick Oliveri, there’s enough to love to bring this record into your desert rock collection.

Rating: 7.5/10

If you like what you’ve read/seen, buy a shirt and help keep Metal Assault running full time!

Come to one of our events!

Record Label: Heavy Psych Sounds
Release Date: October 20th 2017

Track Listing:
1. “R’N’R Outlaw” by Royale Daemons (w/ Joey Castillo & Wino) (2:53)
2. “Luv is Fiction” by Dwarves (2:50)
3. “Medication” by He Who Cannot Be Named (3:19)
4. “Kyuss Dies!” by Kyuss Lives! (3:42)
5. “Country As Fuck” by Plan B (2:14)
6. “Mob Rules” by Melissa Auf Der Maur’s Hand of Doom (2:58)

Total Duration: 17:56